21 Comments
Feb 18Liked by Peter Gray

Hi Peter, I like the "ask me anything" zoom call, a podcast that high lights unstructured play. I also would like to see you share other nonprofits that are promoting fun FREE play events, etc. like letsplayamerica.org The more those of us involved in providing play opportunities and information for people, the more likely unstructured play that allows children to grow independently will increase.

Expand full comment

Peter, the Zoom Sessions would be ‘Gold’.

Thank you for the invitation to share our thoughts. Here’s to your continued success; when you succeed, more children get to play.

Expand full comment

I would definitely love the "ask me anything" zoom call. That would definitely be something I would pay for.

Expand full comment

I'm overloaded with podcast content as it is, so audio content isn't useful to me. I do think there can be value in building a community of people with shared interests but the Zoom call option (already have too many connected with work) isn't appealing to me either. What would motivate me to pay (which would mean I'd be dropping one of my other substack subscriptions, as I've maxed out my substack spending) would be an additional series of posts for paid subscribers. The downside of that is that you'd either have to restrict the free content or generate more content, and neither of those seem like a good thing for you!

My main 2 cents is that far too many substacks go on an expansion binge in terms of content that proves unsustainable. The great thing about substack is that I've been able to curate a list of interesting things that match my array of interests. The over-expansion of some (e.g. The Free Press) means average quality has fallen there. The more focused ones (e.g. Pirate Wires, which seems to have moved off Substack to its own platform quite seamlessly, but which still has a "substack" feel) are doing a better job (in their case, by subdividing the feed into 4 topical streams, so that people can opt into just the ones they want).

Your model of donating the proceeds to good organizations aligned with your writing is a great one (and something I'd missed). So I'll upgrade to paid to support that. Perhaps just highlighting that will be enough to get you more subscriptions without any additional content.

Expand full comment

Both options would be reasons that would encourage me to upgrade to paid, though the option to have a conversation on zoom would be the one I'd prefer. A podcast would help me access your content more regularly and keep up with it. I have really valued having free access to this whilst a student and a home educator - both of which contribute to a very tight budget and so I really like it when alongside a standard subscription, there is also a 'pay as you feel you can afford' option, so that it is possible to show your support and access everything without a paywall and then adjust as your situation allows. If that was available, I'd make a small contribution now and increase it when I qualify later this year.

Expand full comment

An audio/podcast version of the newsletter would be great; I’d happily pay for that. Especially if you could record previous letters as well (I’ve fallen a little behind), but podcasts of new letters would be fantastic on their own.

Expand full comment

I vote for the audio-version of letters!

Expand full comment

I think these features sound great, but I’m in a “wait and see” mode with Substack and don’t plan to pay for any content just now, sorry Peter. We seem to be in a moment of transition around publishing and social media and although I’m loving Substack at the moment, who knows how it will all pan out !

Expand full comment

I also vote Zoom AMA!

Expand full comment

I would love to participate in a "ask me anything" Zoom call! I think that is a great idea, I would suggest maybe collaborative podcasts with individuals like Jonathan Haidt, I think chats where multiple perspectives and opinions are presents are the most interesting.

Expand full comment

I would love to have the podcast option.

Expand full comment

Hi Peter, I would pay for the "ask me anything" Zoom! Thank you for making yourself so available in so many ways.

Expand full comment

Love your Substack! The only reason I am not a paid subscriber is that I use my limited budget to support struggling young writers, journalists, and researchers. I appreciate that you donate proceeds to nonprofits, but supporting responsible non-legacy media is a top priority for our society and me personally now. Please keep up the good work and apologies for continuing to be a freeloader!

Expand full comment

The “Ask Me Anything” Zoom. I always want to discuss things I read and end up typing long comments. I would love the back-and-forth of the occasional discussion.

Expand full comment

I would very much appreciate the podcasts, not so much for me as for my daughter, who is raising two difficult children and needs your advice. She, like most of her generation, would rather listen than read.

Expand full comment

I would love a podcast so I could listen to your content

Expand full comment

I don"t like communication being behind a paywall, but I get it if the aspiration is to be a public figure...

I greatly prefer audio to written, but really i prefer being able to communicate with creators too, not just be a consumer.

I am interested in the angle that relates our educational experiences to the future society we'd like to see.Politically minded people seem to neglect or not consider education, then the ones that talk education rarely use the angle about making the next generation better.

Really I would just like to talk to you in a podcast format.

Expand full comment

Ask me anything type of Zoom meetings will be the perfect value addition.

Expand full comment

This is a good solution for people who wouldn't want to 'pay for an appointment' but have access to ask questions, interact etc. Those who don't need to interact but want to pay will have an opportunity to pay still, but this does meet a need many people have, even if that need isn't forever.

Expand full comment